Parliament’s committee membership determined

On Wednesday, MEPs voted on the size of Parliament’s 20 committees and two sub-committees. Their composition was confirmed by political groups later on the same day.

Following the vote in Parliament’s plenary meeting on Wednesday, at the beginning of the 9th legislative term the number of MEPs in each committee and subcommittee of the European Parliament will be as shown below

AFET Foreign Affairs 71
AGRI Agriculture and Rural Development 48
BUDG Budgets 41
CULT Culture and Education 31
DEVE Development 26
ECON Economic and Monetary Affairs 60
EMPL Employment and Social Affairs 55
ENVI Environment, Public Health and Food Safety 76
IMCO Internal Market and Consumer Protection 45
INTA International Trade 41
ITRE Industry, Research and Energy 72
JURI Legal Affairs 25
LIBE Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs 68
REGI Regional Development 43
TRAN Transport and Tourism 49
AFCO Constitutional Affairs 28
PECH Fisheries 28
PETI Petitions 35
FEMM Women’s Rights and Gender Equality 35
CONT Budgetary Control 30
DROI Human Rights (Subcommittee) 30
SEDE Security and Defence (Subcommittee) 30


The complete list of full members is available here. Chairs will be elected at each committee’s and subcommittee’s constitutive meeting.

The political groups have yet to communicate the lists of their substitute members in the committees.

Rules on the composition of committees

According to Parliament’s Rules of Procedure (Rule 199 as amended in the most recent revision), the composition of its committees and subcommittees should as far as possible reflect the composition of Parliament as a whole.

The proportional distribution of seats among political groups must not depart from the nearest whole number, with the Conference of Presidents (i.e. the EP President and the leaders of the political groups) resolving any disputes between groups on their proportional weight.

The political groups and non-attached Members decide internally who is appointed to each committee and subcommittee. Seat trading between groups is not allowed.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button